9th October 2017: Nov 10 2017 – Whirlwind Recordings blows a storm at EFG London Jazz Festival with triple bill – Michael Janisch Band ft Rez Abbasi, Jason Palmer, John O’Gallagher and Clarence Penn + Henry Spencer’s Juncture + Zhenya Strigalev’s Never Group

Whirlwind founder, bassist, composer and producer Michael Janisch (nominated in 2016 for a MOBO Award in the Jazz category after releasing his latest solo album Paradigm Shift), premiers a terrific Stateside Quartet on their first European tour-date with the Pakistani/American guitarist Rez Abbasi – rapidly emerging as one of today’s major new voices on his instrument – alongside Grammy-winning alto saxophonist John O’Gallagher (Joe Henderson, Maria Schneider), trumpeter Jason Palmer (Herbie Hancock, Kurt Rosenwinkel) and the brilliant drummer Clarence Penn (Michael Brecker, Maria Schneider). The band will be recording Janisch’s next solo album during the tour.

Award-winning trumpeter Henry Spencer’s ‘gleaming tone’ (Jazzwise) lies at the core of an exciting young band playing out of the tradition with an invigorating freshness and attitude, whose debut album The Reasons Don’t Change has been called ‘one of the early contenders for album of the year’ by All About Jazz, whilst saxophonist Strigalev’s zany Never Group takes that same tradition by the scruff of the neck, combining “hip jazz virtuosity and surrealism” (Guardian) in equal measures.

Tickets: Here

Michael Janisch Band
Michael Janisch – double/electric bass
John O’Gallagher – alto saxophone
Jason Palmer – trumpet
Rez Abbasi – guitar
Clarence Penn – drums

Henry Spencer & Juncture
Henry Spencer – trumpet
Nick Costley-White – guitar
Matt Robinson – piano, Fender rhodes, Wurlitzer
Andrew Robb – double bass
David Ingamells – drums

Zhenya Strigalev’s NEVER GROUP
Zhenya Strigalev – alto sax & alto box
Michael Janisch – electric bass / effects
Marc Ayza – drums